Britt’s Game of 2015

Britt Andrews’ Game of the Year 2015

the_witcher_3_wild_hunt_prepare_for_impact-100564760-orig

The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt

2015 was full of great games. And most of them I didn’t play, because I was married to The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt. If I had to come home to a game every night for the rest of my life, it would be this game. I have put well over 100 hours into this game and I have loved every minute of it. None of the games I played in 2015 were as immersive and expansive as this game. While there were some bugs and areas to be improved on, this was to be expected in a game of this size – boasting a map that is 30 times bigger than previous Witcher games. With so much time to be put into the game – I once had over 60 active quests and treasure hunts – it is easy to lose yourself in the world. The complexity of the lore of the Witcher universe is obvious throughout the game. You can interact with this as little or as much as you want, with varying difficulties and in game books and an expansive bestiary.

As Game of the Year, this one really came out of nowhere for me. I had never played a Witcher game before, but saw the hype surrounding the release of Wild Hunt and decided to give it a go. I instantly fell in love. My favourite game ever is Red Dead Redemption, and Wild Hunt came close to beating that. Despite having vastly different storylines and settings, the similarities between the two games had me instinctively trying to call my horse with the command from Red Dead Redemption – despite not having played it in years.

While 2015 was full of great releases – from AAA games to indies – these will have to wait until 2016 for me to play. 2015 is year of the Witcher.

Honourable mentions:

Assassin’s Creed Syndicate

As an unashamed fangirl of the Assassin’s Creed franchise, I was always going to be excited for this one. And while it was a great game – the introduction of two playable characters was the spice up that the franchise needed – there was no way this would be able to beat The Witcher 3. It is my second favourite game of the year, but there is an insurmountable gap between AC: Syndicate and The Witcher 3.

Rare Replay

30 games for 50 bucks? Bargain. As someone who wasn’t much of a gamer as a kid, Rare Replay allowed me to relive my childhood games of Banjo Kazooie, Banjo Tooie and Conker’s Bad Fur Day. As well as this, it gave me 27 other games across a timeline of 25 years. If I had the time – which I unfortunately do not – I would like to play all 30 games offered by Rare Replay in order of release.

Leave a Reply

